This is Really What I’m Best At…


I want to take a break from talking about interviews…graduation…salary…and just enjoy this blog post. I want to explain what I am best at.

I love music (thus my internship at Jive LG) and entertainment (my internship at VH1). I love anything and everything to do with promotions of music, the artist, the show…everything. That is where I ultimately want to end up one day and I realize I have to work hard to get there. But as I see it, I have been working unbelievably hard for the past four years so what is another four? I’m ready to go the extra mile to get what I want.

Working on bios, press plans, pitches, media lists and red carpet events is where I excel. I need that fast-paced, always hectic, non-stop, 60+ hour work week. I need the pressure.

But aside from music and entertainment, my true passion is for events; ever since I was little, I planned my own birthdays, sleepovers and my own graduation party. I then upgraded to planning my fraternity’s social events and formals. Finally, when I studied abroad in London, I had the privilege of interning at Inn or Out Ltd (www.inn-or-out.com).  This was where I learned that my love was real; I didn’t mind going to work for a 16+ hour  work day while my friends were lounging at Hyde Park. I wanted to be there, to be involved and be considered part of the team. Lucky for me, I became part of the team instantly.

I am willing to start anywhere, but one day, I hope I am one of the lucky few to get into that extremely tight-knit field!

About cristinmcgrath

Cristin is a consumer engagement consultant who is currently exploring new opportunities within social media strategy and digital marketing. With experiences ranging from traditional media relations and public affairs to interactive and digital marketing with a specialization in emerging media, she is a versatile marketing professional.

Leave a Reply

